This document is from the collections at the Dole Archives, University of Kansas http://dolearchives.ku.edu



NEWS

U.S. SENATOR FOR KANSAS

FROM:

SENATE REPUBLICAN LEADER

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE Tuesday, January 3, 1995 Contact: Kim McCreery (202) 224-8953

## BASE CLOSURE COMMISSION

DOLE NAMES MICHAEL STONE & WENDI STEELE
TO 1995 BASE CLOSURE COMMISSION

WASHINGTON -- Senate Republican Leader Bob Dole today announced that he has selected Michael P.W. Stone and Wendi Steele to serve on the 1995 Base Closure and Realignment Commission. Stone is a decorated veteran of World War II who served as Secretary of the Army under President Bush. Steele served in the Reagan White House, in the Office of Management and Budget, and on the staff of the 1991 Base Closure Commission.

"Mike Stone and Wendi Steele will make outstanding commissioners," Dole said. "Their unique backgrounds and experience will serve the commission well. As a veteran and former Secretary of the Army, Mike Stone has real world understanding of our military priorities. Wendi Steele's broad experience and prior service as a commissioner will make her an especially valuable member of the base closure panel."

"No doubt about it, this is not an easy or glamorous task," Dole added: "The commission will be faced with tough choices which will have a tremendous impact on our future military capabilities."

Dole said he had given careful consideration to a short list of candidates which also included Patrick Tucker, former staff director and chief counsel of the Senate Armed Services Committee, and retired Major General Jerry Holmes, a decorated Air Force AWACs commander from Oklahoma City. "These were all great candidates", said Dole. "We would be well served by any one of these people."

Under the Base Closure Law, the commission is made up of eight members appointed by the President and the House and Senate Leadership. Dole, as the incoming Majority Leader is authorized to name two members of the commission. The Speaker of the House and the President also each have two selections. The Minority Leaders of the House and Senate will each select one member to serve on the commission. Stone is a resident of San Francisco, California. Steele resides in Houston, Texas.