DOLE RESOLUTION ON THE RECOGNITION OF CROATIA AND SLOVENIA

To express the Senate's support for the recognition of Croatia and Slovenia.

Mr. Dole (for himself, Mr. Pressler, Mr. Helms, Mr. Pell,

Mr. McCain, Mr. Brown, Mr. Gorton, Mr. D'Amato, Mr. Seymour,

Mr. Dixon, Mr. Johnston, Mr. Riegle, Mr. Hatch, Mr. Wallop, Mr. Glenn, Mr. Breaux, Mr. Gore, Mr. Garn, Mr. Lieberman, Mr. Specter, Mr. Mack, Mr. Wofford, Mr. Nickles, Mr. Thurmond, Mr. Roth, Mr. Kasten, Mr. Harkin, Mr. Symms)

Whereas, on December 23, 1990, the people of Slovenia voted overwhelmingly for freedom and independence;

Whereas, on May 19, 1991, the people of Croatia voted overwhelmingly for freedom and independence;

Whereas, on June 25, 1991, the governments of the Republics of Croatia and Slovenia declared their independence;

Whereas, the attack by the Yugoslav Army on the Republic of Slovenia resulted in over one hundred casualties before the agreement on the Yugoslav Army's withdrawal from Slovenia was reached on July 10, 1991;

Whereas, following the Croatian declaration of independence, the Yugoslav Army, in conjunction with the communist leadership of the Republic of Serbia, began waging a brutal war against the Republic of Croatia, a war which has resulted in the deaths of over 10,000 people, primarily innocent civilians, and the large scale destruction of hospitals, schools, churches and industry;

Whereas, since September 7, 1991, the governments of Croatia and Slovenia have been negotiating in good faith at the European Community sponsored peace conference and have met the criteria established by the EC regarding commitment to democracy and the protection of human rights;

Whereas, on January 15, 1992, the twelve nations of the European Community, in accordance with EC criteria and procedures, extended diplomatic recognition to Croatia and Slovenia;

Whereas, as of January 23 1992, the following countries have extended diplomatic recognition to Croatia and Slovenia: Albania, Argentina, Australia, Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Canada, Chile, Czech and Slovak Federation, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Lichtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, New Zealand, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Romania, San Marino, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Ukraine, Uruguay, United Kingdom, The Vatican;

BERTERANGE BERTERANG BERTERANG BERTERANG BERTERANG BERTERANG BERTERANG BERTERANG BERTERANG BERTERANG BERTERANG

to the first of the second of

Whereas, it is in the national interest of the United States to establish friendly diplomatic relations with new and democratic countries which have emerged from former communist multinational states; Now, therefore, be it

Resolved, That:

- (1) The U.S. Senate congratulates the governments and people of Croatia and Slovenia on the occasion of the recognition of their independence by thirty nine countries.
- (2) The U.S. Senate believes it to be consistent with the traditional American commitment to freedom and self-determination, and in the interest of stability in Europe, to support new democratic countries which have emerged from communist multinational states such as the former Yugoslavia and the former Soviet Union.
- (3) The U.S. Senate urges the President to immediately extend diplomatic recognition to Croatia and Slovenia and establish mutually beneficial relations with these new countries.

kanalan kalan k