This press release is from the collections at the Robert J. Dole Archive and Special Collections, University of Kansas. Please contact us with any questions or comments: http://dolearchive.ku.e



## (R - Kansas)

2213 Dirksen Building, Washington, D.C. 20510

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE: TUESDAY, FEBRUARY 2, 1982 CONTACT: WALT RIKER (202) 224-6521

## DOLE SENDS LETTER TO WHITE HOUSE

WASHINGTON -- In a letter co-signed by 29 senators, Senator Bob Dole (R.-Kan.) today urged President Reagan not to rule out future sales of advanced jet fighters to Taiwan. Responding to the Administration's recent decision not to sell sophisticated FX fighter planes to Taiwan, Dole sent the following letter to the White House:

"While the United States must preserve a delicate balance in maintaining relations with the People's Republic of China, we are committed by the Taiwan Relations Act to ensure the defense of our loyal ally, Taiwan. The Taiwan Relations Act, to which you have lent your support, reflects a consensus that the peace and security of Taiwan are in the political, security and economic interests of the United States and the international community.

"Although Taiwan's request to purchase U.S. FX fighter planes has been denied, we feel that the door should not be closed to the future sale of alternative aircraft or parts that would maintain Taiwan's air defense capabilities.

"In this same vein, we are concerned about efforts on the part of the People's Republic of China to gain U.S. agreement to cut off further arms sales to Taiwan altogether. In the spirit of U.S.-Sino cooperation, the formulation of American foreign policy must emanate from American soil.

"Thank you for your consideration of this important matter."

Following is a complete list of the senators who co-signed the above letter to the President: Senators David Boren (D.-Okla.), Howard Cannon (D.-Nev.), Alfonse D'Amato (R.-N.Y.), Dennis DeConcini (D.-Ariz.), Jeremiah Denton (R.-Ala.), Pete Domenici (R.-N.Mex.), John East (R.-N.C.), Wendell Ford (D.-Ky.), Jake Garn (R.-Utah), Barry Goldwater (R.-Ariz), Charles Grassley (R.-Iowa), Paula Hawkins (R.-Fla.), Sam Hayakawa (R.-Calif.), Jesse Helms (R.-N.C.), Ernest Hollings (D.-S.C.), Gordon Humphrey (R.-N.H.), Roger Jepsen (R.-Iowa), Bob Kasten (R.-Wis.), Mack Mattingly (R.-Ga.), James McClure (R.-Idaho), Daniel Moynihan (D.-N.Y.), Frank Murkowski (R.-Alaska), Don Nickles (R.-Okla.), Charles Percy (R.-III.), Dan Quayle (R.-Ind.), Jennings Randolph (D.-W.Va.), Warren Rudman (R.-N.H.), Strom Thurmond (R.-S.C.), and Malcolm Wallop (R.-Wyo.).