## Congress of the United States

Washington, DC 20515

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE Wednesday, May 24, 1995

## ECONOMIC GROWTH & TAX REFORM COMMISSION GINGRICH & DOLE NAME MEMBERS

WASHINGTON -- House Speaker Newt Gingrich and Senate Majority Leader Bob Dole today named 13 distinguished Americans to serve on the National Commission on Economic Growth & Tax Reform, chaired by Jack Kemp. The Commission was established April 3rd by Gingrich and Dole to examine overhauling the tax system to make it flatter, fairer, and simpler. The panel is expected to make its recommendations to Gingrich & Dole later this year.

Named to the Commission were:

Loretta Adams

-- Founder & President, San Diego-based Market Development, Inc.

Ken Blackwell

-- Ohio State Treasurer

Herman Cain

-- CEO, Godfather's Pizza; Former President, National Restaurant Association

Carroll Campbell

-- Former Governor of South Carolina; former member House Ways & Means Committee; President & CEO, American Council of Life Insurance

Pete DuPont

-- Former Governor of Delaware; Policy Chairman, National Center for Policy Analysis

Jack Faris

-- President & CEO, National Federation of Independent Business

Ed Feulner

-- President, Heritage Foundation

Matt Fong

-- California State Treasurer

Ted Forstmann

-- Partner, Forstmann-Little

Dean Kleckner

-- President, American Farm Bureau Federation

Shirley Peterson

-- Former IRS Commissioner; former Assistant Attorney General for the Tax Division; President-elect, Hood College, Frederick, MD

John Snow

-- CEO, CSX Corporation; Chairman, Business Roundtable John Weiland

-- President, Weiland Homes, Inc.

###

Contacts: Tony Blankley (Gingrich) -- 202-225-2800 Clarkson Hine (Dole) -- 202-224-5358