FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE February 8, 1991 CONTACT: WALT RIKER (202) 224-5358

KANSAS FARMERS TO RECEIVE DISASTER RELIEF; ADDITIONAL ASSISTANCE "WELCOME NEWS," SAYS DOLE

WASHINGTON - FARMERS SUSTAINING DAMAGES AND LOSSES TO CROPS DUE TO THE SEVERE WEATHER LAST SPRING ARE NOW ELIGIBLE FOR EMERGENCY LOAN ASSISTANCE FROM THE FARMERS HOME ADMINISTRATION (FMHA), ACCORDING TO KANSAS SENATOR BOB DOLE. THE DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE ANNOUNCED TODAY 7 KANSAS COUNTIES THAT HAVE BEEN DECLARED NATURAL DISASTER AREAS DUE TO THE TORNADOES, HAIL AND HURRICANE-FORCE WINDS WHICH OCCURRED BETWEEN MAY 8, 1990 AND JUNE 20, 1990.

THE SEVEN COUNTIES DECLARED DISASTER AREAS ARE BUTLER, HAMILTON, HARVEY, LABETTE, LANE, NEOSHO AND SEDGWICK.

"IT IS WELCOME NEWS THAT ADDITIONAL ASSISTANCE IS NOW AVAILABLE FOR MANY FARMERS WHO SUFFERED LOSSES LAST YEAR. I WORKED CLOSELY WITH MIKE HAYDEN TO SEEK FEDERAL ASSISTANCE FOR KANSANS SEVERELY IMPACTED BY THE RAGING STORMS LAST SPRING. WE CAN'T STOP NATURAL DISASTERS WHEN THEY OCCUR, HOWEVER, WE CAN MAKE SURE THAT THE PEOPLE WHOSE LIVES HAVE BEEN DEVASTATED RECEIVE THE FULLEST MEASURE OF GOVERNMENT ASSISTANCE AVAILABLE," SAID DOLE.

IN ADDITION, 26 OTHER KANSAS COUNTIES ARE NAMED AS CONTIGUOUS COUNTIES AND ALSO QUALIFY FOR THE SAME EMERGENCY LOANS. THEY ARE:

ALLEN	FINNEY	KINGMAN	SCOTT
BOURBON	GOVE	MCPHERSON	STANTON
CHASE	GRANT	MARION	SUMNER
CHEROKEE	GREELEY	MONTGOMERY	WICHITA
COWLEY	GREENWOOD	NESS	WILSON
CRAWFORD	HODGEMAN	RENO	WOODSON
ELK	KEARNY		