News from Senator

BOB DOLE



(R - Kansas)

SH 141 Hart Building, Washington, D.C. 20510

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE MAY 3, 1989

CONTACT: WALT RIKER (202) 224-5358

DOLE ANNOUNCES 36 ADDITIONAL COUNTIES QUALIFYING FOR EMERGENCY DROUGHT ASSISTANCE

Washington, D.C. -- Senator Bob Dole (R-Ks) announced today the approval of 36 additional Kansas Counties for emergency livestock feeding programs.

The counties are eligible for federal cost-share assistance under the Emergency Feed Program (EFP) and the Emergency Feed Assistance Program (EFAP) in addition to emergency haying and grazing during the five principal growing months.

"This latest list of counties reflects just how widespread the drought damage really is," Dole said. "The administration has responded to our call for help. No doubt our farmers and ranchers would prefer a booming crop and a healthy marketplace, but these relief measures are welcome steps in the face of a bleak forecast for our agricultural produce."

"I will continue to monitor conditions back home and will continue to update USDA as we approach harvest time," Dole said.

ELIGIBLE COUNTIES ANNOUNCED TODAY

GREELEY WICHITA SCOTT MORTON HASKELL HODGEMAN FORD CLARK COMANCHE PAWNEE RUSH ELLIS GRAHAM ROOKS NORTON PHILLIPS SMITH RUSSELL STAFFORD BARBER HARPER KINGMAN RENO RICE SALINE MCPHERSON HARVEY SEDGWICK COWLEY BUTLER MARION GEARY CLAY SEWARD* GRAY* EDWARDS*

Under EFP, the Commodity Credit Corporation (CCC) will provide assistance for up to one-half the cost of purchased feed, including hay, not to exceed 5 cents per pound (feed grain equivalent) to cover the producer's feed needs or feed loss, whichever is smaller.

Under EFAP, producers are eligible to pruchase grain from the Commodity Credit Corporation (CCC) at 50% of the average (posted) market price in a county.

Producers in Seward, Gray and Edwards counties are eligible for EFP and EFAP only.