This document is from the collections at the Dole Archives, University of Kansas http://dolearchives.ku.edu

## May 29, 1985

## POST ROCK WATER DISTRICT PHASE II UNDERWAY COMPLETED PROJECT TO SERVE EIGHT COUNTY AREA

WASHINGTON -- Kansas Senator Bob Dole's office today announced approval of approximately \$5.9 million--a \$3 million loan and a \$2.9 million grant-- by the Farmers Home Administration for construction of Phase II of the Post Rock Rural Water District. Completion of this phase will add 540 new individual users along with the towns of Dorrance, Gorham, Paradise, Waldo, and Luray plus the Wilson Lake community. Expanded service will go to Russell County plus initial service to sections of Osborne and Ellis counties.

"I am pleased to make this announcement. We have all put a lot of effort into seeing the project through," said Senator Dole. "Test water is being pumped through portions of the lines. We aim to begin pumping water from the treatment facility by August 1, 1985."

Senator Dole and his staff have worked closely with state and local officials since the 1970's.

According to Dole, Phase II adds 538 miles of pipeline, five more booster stations, and five additional towers. 75% of the easements have been secured. Once a minimum of 85-90% is secured, contracts can be awarded and construction can being--hopefully no later than the end of this year.

A total of 1200 individual users, the town of Brookville, the five towns in Phase II, and the Wilson Lake community will eventually be served. Eight counties are included: Ellsworth, Lincoln, Saline, Ottawa, Russell, Barton, Osborne, and Ellis.

Azure blue storage tanks inscribed with "POST ROCK RWD" will serve as landmarks. One will be visible adjacent to Kansas State Highway K141, the Kanopolis Lake road, and another can be seen in the distance, south of Interstate 70 near Ellsworth.

Van Gundy & Associates in Ellsworth are Consulting Engineers. Gary Urbanek serves as Project Engineer. The Project Manager is Charles Dolezal. Robert Whitmer, Dorrance, is Chairman of the Board of Directors. Other members are: Melvin Webb, Westfall; Dwight Sperry, Beverly; Henry Bender, Russell; LeeRoy Charvat, Wilson; Bob Diers, Sylvan Grove; Larry Kilian, Russell; Lee Ross, Luray; and Adolph Vopat, Wilson.