United States Senate

WASHINGTON, D.C 20510

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE FRIDAY, JUNE 26, 1981

CONTACT: BILL KATS (202) 224-6521 LEIGH KIMBALL 224-4774

LEROY TOWNS 225-2715

27 KANSAS COUNTIES ELIGIBLE FOR CROP DISASTER LOANS

WASHINGTON -- Farmers in 27 Kansas counties devastated by the May freeze have been declared eligible for disaster loans through the Farmers Home Administration (FmHA), Senators Bob Dole and Nancy Kassebaum and Representative Pat Roberts announced today.

The three Kansas representatives, who had previously urged the U.S. Department of Agriculture to expedite the emergency credit process, explained that farmers who suffered a 20 percent loss would be eligible for loans which cover 90 percent of their loss at 5 percent interest (for those who can not obtain credit elsewhere), and at a slightly higher interest rate for those who can obtain credit.

Had the freeze begun before May 26, when the FmHA disaster loan program underwent program reductions, farmers would have been eligible for assistance only if they suffered a 30 percent loss.

USDA officials have assured the Kansas representatives that damage in each Kansas county would continue to be monitored as the 1981 harvest progresses in order to determine further eligibility for disaster assistance.

Counties declared eligible are:

Cheyenne, Clay, Decatur, Gove, Graham, Greeley, Hamilton, Hodgeman, Kearny, Lane, Lincoln, Logan, Lyon, Marshall, Mitchell, Ness, Norton, Osborne, Phillips, Rawlins, Scott, Sheridan, Sherman, Thomas, Trego, Wallace and Wichita.