

NEWS 100m U.S. Senator Bob Dole

(R.-Kans.) New Senate Office Building, Washington, D.C. 20510 (202) 224-6521

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE
THURSDAY, SEPTEMBER 15, 1977

USDA TO ANNOUNCE DISASTER ASSISTANCE FOR 25 KANSAS COUNTIES

WASHINGTON, D.C. -- Senator Bob Dole said today that the Department of Agriculture has declared 25 Kansas counties eligible for emergency disaster loans from Farmers Home Administration. USDA is expected to announce the decision within a few days.

Fifteen counties -- Chase, Chataqua, Cherokee, Clay, Cowley, Dickenson, Elk,
Labette, Lynn, Marion, Miami, Montgomery, Morris, Ottawa, and Saline -- were designated
because of loss suffered due to hail, heavy rains and flooding during the period from
June 1, 1977 through July 5, 1977. Ten additional counties -- Grant, Stevens, Butler,
Cheyenne, Cloud, Grant, Greely, Kingman, Meade, Morton, Reno, and Stevens -- were designated
because of losses due to hail and a tornado during the period from May 1 through May 29,

Dole had sent telegrams on August 9 and September 7, urging Secretary of Agriculture 80b Bergland to approve the disaster applications. In his telegrams, Dole pointed out that nearly 13,000 farmers suffered more than \$58 million in losses in the 25 counties.

Loan applications will be accepted through March 13, 1978 for physical losses and through September 15, 1978 for production losses.