FOR RELEASE WEDNESDAY DECEMBER 26, 1962 Russell, Kansas

The 6th District "Academy Screening Board" will meet at Sheridan Coliseum, 8:00 a.m., hays, Kansas, December 28, to interview applicants for the various Service Academies, Congressman Bob Dole has announced.

The Screening Board was created in 1961 by Congressman Dole to insure that all Military, Air Force, and Naval Academy applicants would be considered on a completely impartial basis and to further insure the selection and nomination of those applicants best qualified.

The Screening Board is composed of outstanding citizens in the Congressional District who have, through past activities, indicated an interest in young men and women. Those comprising the Board are:

> Mrs. A. M. Shatzell - Hexie Long active in Girl Scouts

Robert Cram - St. Francis State Representative from Cheyenne County

Forrest Stamper - Plainville Farmer and former State Senator

George Meeker - Phillipsburg Vice President Kansas Teachers Assn.

Dick Burnett - hays Asst. to the President, Ft. hays Kansas State College

Dwight Payton - Ellsworth Owner and Publisher of Ellsworth Messenger

Dr. Bryon hutchinson - Salina Past President Sacred Heart nome & School Assn.

Leo Paulsen - Concordia Farmer and Legislative Representative for many farm groups in the Kansas Legislature

George Adams - Wakeeney Owner of Western Kansas World and has a son presently in the Air Force Academy

In addition, Lt. Col. Lester Ruegsegger, (Reserve) Liaison Officer for the Air Force Academy, Salina; Lt. Col. Gerald Schnelker, St. Joseph's Military Academy, hays; and E. M. Thomas, Plainville, U. S. Navy, will be available during

December 26, 1962 (cont)

the day for technical advice and assistance to the Board.

Congressman Dole stated, "While only a few Members of Congress use this Academy selection method, it does seem the most objective and fairest way to insure those selected are the best qualified. Last year those applicants rated the highest by the Screening Board, in nearly every instance, qualified and passed final entrance examinations. Board Members interview each applicant personally, review his high School, and in some cases, College Transcripts, physical examination reports, personal references, and all other data submitted."

Dole said there were 57 applicants to be screened and that about 20 of these reside in the present 5th District. Combining the 5th and 6th Districts into the new First will complicate matters, but through cooperation with Senators Frank Carlson and Jim Pearson, it is hoped all vacancies can be filled with well-qualified young men.

Attached is a complete list of applicants and their addresses - - by County.

(more)

This document is from the collections at the Dole Archives, University of Kansas December 26, 1962 BARBER COUNTY John Michael Vincent, Medicine Lodge (814 Medicine Blvd.) (cont) BARTON COUNTY Philip D. Quinley, Great Bend (1301 Wilson) Patrick J. Schartz, Ellinwood (215 East Second) William Paul Witcraft, Ellinwood (411 Clifton Drive) CLOUD COUNTY Kenneth N. Peltier, Concordia (230 E. 6th St.) DECATUR COUNTY Jon Fleming Peters, Oberlin (119 So. York) ELLIS COUNTY Daniel L. Neuburger, Ellis (300 Dorrance St.) Harris B. Holler, Gorham David L. Cook, Hays (2411 Fort) Robert C. Lorbeer, Hays (2723 Willow) Gary N. Neuburger, Hays (Prairie Acres) Robert W. Trimmer, Hays (210 E. 6th St.) ELLSWORTH COUNTY Gary L. Wacker, Kanopolis Leon Dolechek, Jr., Wilson FINNEY COUNTY Bryce W. Roderick, Garden City (2800 N. Main) FORD COUNTY Danny J. Dannenberg, Dodge City (Ft. Dodge Rd.) RUSSELL COUNTY GOVE COUNTY Larry D. Funk, Waldo Gordon Hecker, Quinter Howard P. Killough, Jr., Russell (1132 N. Elm St.) GRAHAM COUNTY SALINE COUNTY Thomas E. Mai, Hill City Dennis G. Pugh, New Cambria Eugene C. Cheatham, Salina (132 Hartfor W. Neil Forehand, Salina (2036 Norton) Roger W. Hoopes, Salina (856 Seminole) GREELEY COUNTY William R. Simpson, Tribune James F. Nesmith, Salina (2048 Wesley) Marc R. Ryan, Salina (137 N. 8th St.) HAMILTON COUNTY Leroy A. Farr, Syracuse SEWARD COUNTY Kim D. Ramey, Liberal NORTON COUNTY SHERMAN COUNTY Charles P. Hadley, Norton Kenneth W. Johnson, Goodland (520 W.16' Warren D. Richards, Norton 22 THOMAS COUNTY Bulger David J. Phillips, Colby (670 N. Lincol OSBORNE COUNTY Charles W. Streit, Downs George W. Marshall, Colby (North Range) Alan L. Thornburg, Alton TREGO COUNTY Dennis A. Dietz, Wakeeney (328 8th St.) WICHITA COUNTY OTTAWA COUNTY John R. Green, Leoti Harlan R. Enlow, Jr. Minneapolis _ _ _ _ _ _ _ The following are sons of servicemen and PHILLIPS COUNTY claim residency in the First Congressional Earl Kay Kinter, Phillipsburg Stephen E. Robinson, Phillipsburg District: Kelly W. Cap, Battle Creek, Michigan PRATT COUNTY (present address) Joseph L. McKown, Pratt (1002 Stout St.) Victor T. Holm, Washington, D. C. James A. Wood, Pratt (212 W. 3rd St.) (present address) William C. Markley, Bellevue, Nebraska RAWLINS COUNTY (present address) W. Michael Guth, Atwood REPUBLIC COUNTY Daniel G. Chambers, Belleville RICE COUNTY David A. Hodgson, Little River James L. Ontjes, Geneseo ROOKS COUNTY Ronald D. Campbell, Plainville (311 So. Main St.) Robert E. Fournier, Plainville (508 So. Sect. Line) Gary F. Hicks, Plainville (129 SW 8th St.) RUSH COUNTY Arlin A. Armstrong, LaCrosse (401 Columbia) Donald L. Janke, Alexander Micheal D. Janke, Alexander

Page 3 of 3

Terry I. Seltmann, Nekoma