This press release is from the collections at the Robert J. Dole Archive and Special Collections, University of Kansas.

Please contact us with any questions or comments: http://dolearchive.ku.edu/ask



NEWS

FROM:

SENATE REPUBLICAN LEADER

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE CONTACT: WALT RIKER SEPTEMBER 9, 1992 (202)224-5358

SEYMOUR APPOINTED TO BI-PARTISAN "GLASS CEILING" PANEL

WASHINGTON - California Senator John Seymour today was appointed by Senate Leader Bob Dole (KS) to the Glass Ceiling Commission, a 21-member bipartisan group established to study business practices that prevent the advancement of women and minorities to top management jobs.

"John's commitment to equal opportunity and fighting discrimination make him a valuable addition to this important and distinguished panel. You can be sure that John will work hard to make this commission an effective weapon to shatter the glass ceiling, so that all share equally in the American dream," Dole said.

"In spite of the advancement we've made, there are still signs that hidden discriminatory practices are preventing qualified individuals from being hired to high-level positions," Seymour said.

"I plan to work closely with this commission, which includes some talented and well-respected members of the business community, to break that glass ceiling so all Americans can rise as far as talent and desire will take them," Seymour added.

The Commission is the product of legislation that Seymour co-sponsored which was enacted as part of the Civil Rights Act of 1991.

The Glass Ceiling Commission is headed by Labor Secretary Lynn Martin. President Bush recently appointed four women and two men to the panel: Patricia V. Asip, J.C. Penney, Co., Inc., TX; J. Alphonso Brown, Brown Consulting Groups, KY; Joanne M. Collins, United MO Bank of Kansas City, MO; Della M. Reyes, Adrian Research Group, TX; Henry Tang, Salomon Brothers, NY; Carol Cox Wait, Committee for a Responsible Federal Budget, Washington, DC. Also part of the panel is Senator Barbara Mikulski (D-MD). Twelve additional members of the Commission will be appointed by the Congress.