This press release is from the collections at the Robert J. Dole Archive and Special Collections of Comments: http://dolearchive.ku.ed

BOB DOLE

(R - Kansas)

SH 141 Hart Building, Washington, D.C. 20510

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE Wednesday, October 22, 1986

CONTACT: BRENT BAHLER (202) 224-6521

PRESIDENT DECLARES SE KANSAS A FEDERAL DISASTER AREA

Washington, DC -- President Reagan has declared seven counties in southeastern Kansas a federal disaster area as a result of recent flooding, Senator Bob Dole announced today.

In the declaration, the President directed the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) to provide disaster recovery aid to Allen, Bourbon, Neosho, Labette, Wilson, Montgomery and Chatuaqua counties, according to Dole.

"The President's prompt review of the damage assessments, and his quick decision to declare these counties a disaster area, will long be remembered and appreciated by the people of Kansas," said Sen. Dole. "Now the task of rebuilding can begin."

Sen. Dole said FEMA anticipates opening up disaster application centers by the beginning of next week. "There will probably be two centers and perhaps a mobile unit to travel thorught the affected counties." Details will be released at that time on what specific assistance will be available and how to obtain it, according to Dole.

"Available assistance depends upon need," said Sen. Dole.
"SBA loans, flood insurance programs, individual family grants -all these are the types of aid that will be available," said Sen.
Dole.

As many as 50 FEMA representatives may be dispatched to the seven counties to conduct on-site inspections as a follow-up to the filing of assistance applications.