This press release is from the collections at the Robert J. Dole Archive and Special Collections, University of Kansas

News from Senartopes with any questions or comments: http://dolearchive.ku.edu

BOB DOLE

(R - Kansas) SH 141 Hart Building, Washington, D.C. 20510

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE MONDAY, OCTOBER 1, 1984

CONTACT: WALT RIKER, SCOTT RICHARDSON 202/224-6521

DOLE ANNOUNCES MEMBERS OF NATIONAL AG EXPORT COMMISSION KANSAN FRITZ GWIN WILL SERVE

WASHINGTON -- Kansas Senator Bob Dole today announced that a Kansan will be one of the 20 members of the newly formed National Commission on Agricultural Trade and Export Policy. The Commission is the result of legislation authored by Senator Dole, and signed by President Reagan on August 30. Francis B. "Fritz" Gwin, of Beloit, was named to the Commission on the recommendation of Senator Dole.

"Kansas farmers and ranchers have long understood that their industry is heavily dependent on the growth and maintenance of foreign markets in order to assure a fair price," said Senator Dole. "The Commission will be of great assistance to Congress when we write the new Farm Bill next year. Its final report in 1986 should serve as a blueprint for the direction of our trade policies through the rest of the 20th century."

"I am especially pleased that Fritz Gwin will serve on the Commission," said Dole. "Fritz is general manager of Farmway Co-op, a grain and farm supply cooperative in Beloit. In addition, he is Chairman of the Board of Farmland Industries and serves on the board of that company's subsidiaries, FAR-MAR-CO, and Farmland World Trade Company. He truly understands the export and trade interests of midwest farmers."

Senator Dole introduced legislation to create the Commission on June 21, and guided it through Senate consideration and final approval. The Kansas Senator is Senior Republican on the Senate Agriculture Committee, and Chairman of the Senate Finance Committee, which has jurisdiction over international trade.

The 20 members of the Commission are:

- 1) John "Duke" Barr, National Cotton Council, Louisiana
- Jack Parsons, Past President, National Corn Growers Association, Iowa
- 3) Marshall Grant, tobacco and peanut producer, North Carolina
- 4) Joe Hatfield, poultry producer, Georgia
- 5) Frank Light, Sun-Diamond, California
- 6) Fritz Gwin, Farmland Industries, Kansas
- 7) Don Nordlund, A.E. Staley Co., Illinois
- 8) Jake Jaquier, The Fertilizer Institute, Tennessee
- 9) D. Paul Alagia, agriculture and trade consultant, Kentucky
- 10) Bob Delano, American Farm Bureau, Virginia
- 11) Earl Pryor, National Association of Wheat Growers, Oregon
- 12) Ervin Elkin, Associated Milk Producers, Inc., Texas
- 13) Ken Bader, American Soybean Association, Missouri
- 14) Dale Hunt, American Rice, Texas
- 15) Charles M. Harper, CONAGRA, Nebraska
- 16) Lloyd Bentsen, Sr., cattle and grain producer, Texas
- 17) Edward Andersen, National Grange, Nebraska
- 18) Linwood Tipton, Milk Industry Foundation, Northeast
- 19) Earl A. Stennis, agricultural economist, Mississippi
- 20) Bernard Steinweg, Continental Grain, New York

ALTERNATES

Ed Rast, cotton and grain producer, South Carolina Burton M. Joseph, grain and feed processor, Minnesota