

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

WASHINGTON, D.C. June 19, 1984 — Kansas Senators Nancy Landon Kassebaum and Bob Dole announced today that three counties in northeastern Kansas struck by a tornado in April have been named eligible for federal disaster assistance.

The Farmers Home Administration (FmHA) today notified the senators, that Atchison, Doniphan and Jackson counties are eligible for the loan assistince because of losses suffered by residents during the tornado on April 26.

"Word of this disaster declaration should be encouraging to the residents of these three counties, who are now reeling from additional severe weather in recent days," Kassebaum and Dole said. "The availability of low-interest loans should allow clean-up and rebuilding to begin in earnest."

Kassebaum and Dole noted that due to recent farm legislation, residents of counties that are contiguous to those for which disaster relief has been declared also may be eligible for emergency assistance. That means six additional Kansas counties may qualify: Brown, Leavenworth, Jefferson, Nemaha, Pottawatomie and Shawnee. Residents in those counties will have to meet a needs test in order to qualify for federal emergency assistance.

The senators said residents of all nine counties should contact their county FmHA office for more information.

- 30 -

CONTACT: Rob Stoddard Press Secretary for Sen. Kassebaum (202) 224-4774 Walt Riker Press Secretary for Sen. Dole (202) 224-6521