FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE TUESDAY, MAY 15, 1984

CONTACT: WALT RIKER, SCOTT RICHARDSON 202/224-6521

32 KANSAS COUNTIES NOW ELIGIBLE FOR FEDERAL DISASTER AID--DOLE BILL REDEFINES ELIGIBILITY REQUIREMENTS

WASHINGTON -- Kansas Senator Bob Dole today announced that 32 more Kansas counties have now become eligible for disaster assistance as a result of legislation recently signed into law by the President.

Dole authored the "Agriculture Programs Adjustment Act of 1984," a comprehensive package that improves commodity programs, boosts U.S. agricultural exports, and frees up more funds for disaster assistance.

Under the Dole bill, counties who are contiguous to counties that have already been formally designated as disaster areas are also eligible for Farmers Home Administration assistance. The assistance was offered following the severe weather of 1983 that devastated crops all across the country.

"I am pleased that more fairness will be brought into the eligibility process with the addition of these counties. This change will help eliminate the seemingly unfair standards for determining which counties qualify for disaster assistance," Dole said. "I've recommended that whole states be okayed for relief in order to eliminate bureaucratic red tape and make the process more fair, but short of that reform, this change makes more sense."

The following counties of Kansas have been made eligible for FmHA disaster emergency loans because they are contiguous to counties in the state that have previously been designated as eligible for such loans:

Cloud	Haskell	Ottawa	Seward
Edwards	Hodgeman	Pawnee	Sheridan
Elk	Kearney	Phillips	Smith
Finney	Lane	Pratt	Stevens
Gove	Lincoln	Reno	Sumner
Graham	Logan	Republic	Wallace
Greeley	Mitchell	Scott	Washington
Hamilton	Morton	Sedgwick	Rawlins

The period to apply for loans in those counties will terminate on November 21, 1984.

The following Kansas counties have been made eligible for FmHA disaster emergency loans because they are contiguous to counties in other states that have been designated as eligible:

Clark Meade

The period to apply for loans in those counties will terminate on September 26, 1984.

The following counties of Kansas have previously been designated as eligible for FmHA disaster emergency loans; their period for application has been extended to November 21, 1984:

Allen	Cowley	Jackson	Montgomery	Russell
Anderson	Crawford	Jefferson	Morris	Saline
Atchison	Dickinson	Jewell	Nemaha	Shawnee
Barton	Doniphan	Johnson	Neosho	Stafford
Bourbon	Douglas	Labette	Ness	Stanton
Brown	Ellis	Leavenworth	Osage	Trego
Butler	Ellsworth	Linn	Osborne	Wabaunsee
Chase	Franklin	Lyon	Pottawatomie	Wichita
Chautaugua	Geary	McPherson	Rice	Wilson
Cherokee	Grant	Marion	Riley	Woodson
Clay	Greenwood	Marshall	Rooks	Wyandotte
Coffey	Harvey	Miami	Rush	-