FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE MONDAY, APRIL 30, 1984

CONTACT: WALT RIKER, SCOTT RICHARDSON 202/224-6521

DOLE A FINALIST IN AMERICAN INSTITUTE FOR PUBLIC SERVICE 1984 JEFFERSON AWARD

WASHINGTON -- Kansas Senator Bob Dole has been selected as finalist for the prestigious Jefferson Award, bestowed annually by the American Institute for Public Service.

The Institute was founded in 1972 to recognize outstanding achievements in public service. Recipients are selected annually by the 80 member Board of Selectors in a number of categories.

Dole is Chairman of the Senate Finance Committee, and is being cited for his leadership on the federal deficit issue and the budget. Dole was selected as finalist along with New Mexico Senator Pete Domenici, Chairman of the Senate Budget Committee. Others include Council of Economic Advisers Chairman Martin Feldstein; ACDA Ambassador Paul Nitze; Congressional Budget Office Director Alice Rivlin; and FBI Director William Webster.

The Co-Founders of the American Institute for Public Service are Mrs. Jacqueline Kennedy Onassis, and former Senator Robert Taft, Jr. Samuel S. Beard serves as President. Junction City Daily Union Editor John D. Montgomery, and author Gordon Parks, a native of Fort Scott, Kansas, are members of the Board. Additional Board members include Muhammad Ali, Michael Pulitzer, Cicely Tyson, Andrew Wyeth, and William E. Simon.