This press release is from the collections at the Robert J. Dole Archive and Special Collections News from Separatorus with any questions or comments: http://dolearchive.ku.edu





(R - Kansas)

SH 141 Hart Building, Washington, D.C. 20510

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE WEDNESDAY, JANUARY 25, 1984 CONTACT: WALT RIKER, Sen. Dole's Off. 202/224-6521 ROB STODDARD, Sen. Kassebaum 202/224-4774

DOLE AND KASSEBAUM ANNOUNCE DISASTER AID FOR TEN COUNTIES

WASHINGTON -- Kansas Senators Bob Dole and Nancy Kassebaum today announced that disaster-stricken counties in central and western Kansas have been approved by the U.S. Department of Agriculture to receive low-interest disaster loans.

"We are gratified that Secretary Block has acted promptly on these applications for relief from the severe crop losses caused by this summer's searing heat, hail and the early September freeze," the Senators said. "Eligible farmers in these counties will now be able to finance operating expenses at well below commercial interest rates."

The announcement followed notification by the Farmers Home Administration that 10 of the 15 counties formally requested by the State in November had been reviewed and approved. Farmers in eligible counties who suffered at least a 30% crop loss due to the drought will be able to receive loans at 5% interest on the first \$100,000 and 8% on the balance up to \$500,000, if unable to find credit elsewhere. The regular FmHA interest rate is currently 13-3/4%.

"I have asked the USDA to further review the five requested counties which were not approved today," said Senator Dole.

"More government loans may not be the best answer for many Kansas farmers," Dole said, "but anyone who lost their crops due to natural disasters should have the same option as producers in the counties approved today."

The counties approved for low-interest disaster loans in today's announcement include:

Barton	Ness
Ellis	Rice
Ellsworth	Rooks
Grant	Rush
McPherson	Russell

Dole said the USDA is deferring determination on five other counties: Harvey, Osborne, Stafford, Trego, and Wichita.