News from Season is from the collections at the Robert J. Dole Archive and Special Collections, University of Kansas.

This press release is from the collections at the Robert J. Dole Archive and Special Collections, University of Kansas.

## BOB DOLE

(R - Kansas)

2213 Dirksen Building, Washington, D.C. 20510

CONTACT: BOB WAITE MORGAN WILLIAMS

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE: WEDNESDAY, JULY 30, 1980

DOLE REQUESTS 29 ADDITIONAL KANSAS COUNTIES BE DECLARED ELIBIBLE FOR DROUGHT LOA MAY BE NECESSARY TO DESIGNATE ENTIRE STATE IF DROUGHT CONTINUES

WASHINGTON -- Senator Bob Dole (R.-Kansas) today requested that the Kansas Farmers Home Administration (FmHA) consider designating 29 additional Kansas counties eligible immediately for federal drought disaster assistance loans for farmers and consider all Kansas counties if farmers need assistance and the drought continues.

In a letter to FmHA state director Jack Denyer, Dole said, "My office has received many calls from farmers who live in counties not yet designated. These farmers also report drought conditions resulting in severe crop losses. Farmers in these counties feel they also should be given the opportunity to obtain drought loans. I believe any farmer in Kansas who has suffered a loss and can qualify under the FmHA rules should be given the opportunity to obtain a loan.

"I would like to request that the Kansas FmHA consider designating 29 additional counties in Kansas in the immediate future. These counties include all the counties not yet designated in central and eastern Kansas.

"I would also like to request that all the counties in western Kansas who have suffered drought also be monitored and then designated if any farmers in those counties can qualify for disaster loans.

"The FmHA instructions, I am told, say a county can be designated if one or more farmers have suffered a significant loss due to a natural disaster and need credit. The drought is but one of a series of disasters to hit farmers this year. Farmers need all the assistance they can obtain.

"It is imperative that all farmers in Kansas who have suffered losses be given an opportunity to qualify for these federal disaster loans. Before the drought is over it may be necessary to designate almost every county in the state as has been done in Missouri."

The 29 counties are: Atchison, Barber, Barton, Brown, Clay, Doniphan, Harper, Harvey, Jackson, Jefferson, Jewell, Johnson, Kingman, Leavenworth, Marshall, Nemaha, Osborne, Pottawatomie, Pratt, Reno, Republic, Riley, Russell, Sedgwick, Smith, Stafford, Sumner, Washington, and Wyandotte.