

FROM: THE OFFICE OF U.S. SENATOR BOB DOLE NEW SENATE OFFICE BUILDING WASHINGTON, D.C. 20510 (202) 225-6521

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

WASHINGTON, D.C. March 30 -- Osage county has been designated by the Department of Agriculture for participation in the food stamp program, it was announced today by Senators James Pearson, Bob Dole and Congressman Joe Skubitz.

Osage is one of 32 Kansas counties which have been designated for the program. Eighteen of these now have operation programs. Programs begin in each county when local arrangements with grocers and support agencies are complete.