

FROM: THE OFFICE OF U.S. SENATOR BOB DOLE NEW SENATE OFFICE BUILDING WASHINGTON, D.C. 20510 (202) 225-6521

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

316

WASHINGTON, D.C. Jan. 7 -- The Kansas Congressional Delegation today announced that nine more Kansas counties have been designated by the U.S. Department of Agriculture to take part in the federal food stamp program.

The counties are Anderson, Barton, Chautauqua, Cowley, Dickinson, Ellsworth, Lincoln, Lynn and Sedgwick. The addition of the 9 counties means a total of 25 Kansas counties will eventually participate in the program. By Feb. 1, a total of 16 counties will have food stamp programs in operation, while 18 counties will be taking part in the federal commodity distribution program. Dates when the food stamp program begins actual operation in the 9 new counties will be announced locally.