This press release is from the collections at the Robert J. Dole Archive and Special Collections, University of Kansas. Please contact us with any questions or comments: http://dolearchive.ku.edu/ask

SENATOR JAMES B. PEARSON

Kansas

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE lag 15, 1969

The Kansas Congressional delegation today announced that President Nixon has declared Kansas a major disaster area because of damage resulting from severe weather over large areas of the state beginning June 21st.

The announcement came jointly from offices of Senators James B. Pearson and Robert Dole, and Representatives, Keith Sebelius, Chester Mize, Larry Winn, Garner Shriver and Joe Skubitz.

In signing the declaration, the President allocated an initial \$500,000.00 for such federal assistance as repair or replacement of public property damaged or destroyed by a series of tornadoes and floods.

The President's action followed an inspection of this affected area by state-federal disaster teams.

Federal officials, lead by disaster specialists from the Presidents's office of Emergency Preparedness, headquartered in Denver, are in the strickened areas throughout Kansas assisting state and local recovery and inspection teams.

Thus far, the Small Business Administration has declared Saline County and adjacent areas a disaster area under the Administration's own statutes. Owners of homes, small businesses and operators of non-profit institutions may apply for long term, low interest loans.

Two elements of the Department of Agriculture, the Farmers Home Administration and the Agriculture Stablization and Conservation Service, have been assisting farmers whose property was struck by floods and high winds.

The Army Corp of Engineers and the Department of Transportation Bureau of Public Roads are assisting in the joint effort and Red Cross disaster teams of the Midwestern area have provided mass care services to stricken victims. The Red Cross is providing financial assistance for the reconstruction of damaged homes and farm buildings.

The funds allocated today will be administered by the Denver director representing the office of Emergency Preparedness. The designated counties are as follows:

Chase Dickinson Ellsworth Franklin Lyon Leavenworth Mami McPherson Osage Saline Wyandotte