This press release is from the collections at the Robert J. Dole Archive and Special Collections, University of Kansas. Please contact us with any questions or comments: http://dolearchive.ku.edu/ask

BOB DOLE ST DISTRICT, KANSAS NON HOUSE OFFICE BUILDING AREA CODE 202 225-2715

VERNMENT OPERATIONS DISTRICT OFFICE:

TCHINSON, KANSAS 67501

COMMITTEES:

Congress of the United States House of Representatives Mashington, D.C. 20515

COMANCHE
DECATUR
EDWARDS
ELLIS
ELLSWORTH
FINNEY
FORD GOVE GRAHAM GRANT GRAY GREELEY HAMILTON HARPER HASKEL

HODGEMAN
JEWELL
KEARNY
KINGMAN
KIOWA
LANE
LINCOLN
LOGAN
MEADE
MITCHELL
MORTON
NESS
NOBTON

NESS NORTON OSBORNE OTTAWA PAWNEE PHILLIPS PRATT

RAWLINS RENO REPUBLIC RICE ROOKS RUSSELL SALINE SCOTT SEWARD SHERIDAN SHERMAN SMITH STAFFORD STAFFORD STAFVONS THOMAS TREGO WALLACE WICHITA

For Release WEDNESDAY, NOVEMBER 23, 1966

Hutchinson-Thirty-six young men from the First Congressional District, who are interested in service academy appointments, will be interviewed Saturday, November 26, by a Screening Board appointed by Rep. Bob Dole.

The meeting will be held in Sheridan Coliseum on the campus of Fort Hays State College, and will convene at 8:30 a.m. Dole will not be present at the meeting. A member of the House Committee on Government Operations, he accompanied four other members of the committee to Europe where they will be reviewing market promotion activities of the Foreign Agricultural Service.

According to Rep. Dole, outstanding residents of the First District are members of the Screening Board and each applicant is considered on a completely impartial basis, thus assuring the selection and nomination of the best qualified boys.

Dr. Richard E. Burnett, Assistant to the President of Fort Hays State College, who has served as chairman of the board for a number of years, will again serve in this capacity. Other members are: Mrs. A. M. Shatzell, Hoxie; Forrest Stamper, Plainville; Leo Paulsen, Concordia; Jim Shaw, Ashland; George Meeker, Phillipsburg; Sam Stitt, Ellinwood; Robert Jennison, Healy; George Baxter, Russell; Mrs. R. C. Rolfs, Lorraine; Mrs. Howard Muncy, Dodge City; Robert Cram, St. Francis, and Mrs. Glen Hays, Ransom.

The Board will again be assisted by "technical advisors", who are well qualified men with an interest in the Academies. They are Lt. Colonel Lester Ruegsegger, Salina; Lt. Commander William Dixon, Hutchinson, Colonel Kenneth Peters, Larned, and Captain James T. Killilea, Hays.

The Board will recommend two boys for principal appointments to the Naval Academy, and two to the Army Academy. Congressman Dole has no vacancy to the Air Force Academy this year. Boys who indicated they will appear before the

Board are:

Curtis Baird, Hays Ray Brannan Jr., Meade Scott Daily, Coldwater Robert Elliott, Osborne Darrel Gee, St. John Dennis Gray, Lyons Terry Jobe, Lyons Craig McFarlane, Salina John Murray II, Holyrood Garold Seeger, Dodge City

Ivan J. Birrer II, Ft. Leavenworth Galen Bland, Hutch Sam Clovis, Jr., Medora David Dinges, Hays
Gary Escher, Herndon
Donald Geier, Garden City David Hutchison, Wakeeney Nicholas LoBurgio, Ellinwood James McGinley, Dodge City Dean Rice, Clayton Larry Smith, Dighton John Stevenson, Great Bend Larry Strain, Brewster Thad Webster, Salina Bruce Wendelin, Herndon Philip Zillinger, Phillipsburg Bert Speck Pro-

Ed Crawford, Salina Eddie Dyck, Hutch. John Eubank, Pratt Thomas Gilcrest, Liberal Alfred Jacobs, Pfeifer Bob Lundy, Russell Greg Morris, Pratt Francis Ross, Ellinwood John Stevens, Ashland Bert Snook, Russell