For Release Wednesday, December 23, 1964

Washington-Rep. Bob Dole announced today that the First District Academy
Screening Board will meet Tuesday, December 29, in Sheridan Coliseum on the campus
of Fort Hays Kansas State College, Hays. Candidates for the various Service Academies
will be interviewed by the Board, who in turn will make recommendations to Dole.

The Screening Board method was originated by Dole in 1961 to "insure that all Military, Air Force and Naval Academy applicants would be considered on a completely impartial basis, and to assure selection and nomination of best qualified applicants". Since that time a number of other Congressman began using the Screening Board method. Board members personally interview each applicant, review his high school or college transcript, physical examination reports, personal references, and all other data submitted. "All recommendations are then made to me and followed," Dole said.

The Screening Board is made up of outstanding residents of the First Congressional District. Richard Burnett, Hays, Assistant to the President, Fort Hays Kansas State College, is chairman, and other members are:

Mrs. A. M. Shatzell - Hoxie Long active in Girl Scouts

Paul Ward - Hays Attorney

Forrest Stamper - Plainville Farmer and former State Senator

Leo Paulsen - Concordia
Farmer and Legislative Representative for many
farm groups in the Kansas Legislature

Mrs. Glen Hays, Ransom Former National Legislative Director Women's Christian Temperance Union

Jim Shaw - Ashland Farmer-Ranchman

George Meeker- Phillipsburg Superintendent of Schools Robert Jennison Healy former state Legislator #2 Dole release - December 23, 1964

Robert Ashlock - Ellinwood Guidance Counselor Ellinwood High School

Lewis Gilbreath - Hutchinson Vice Principal Hutchinson Senior High School

Mrs. R. C. Rolfs - Lorraine Teacher - Lyons Public Schools

Mrs. Howard Muncy - Dodge City Secretary Ford County United Fund

Members of the Screening Board will be assisted by "technical advisors", who are well-qualified men with an interest in the Academies. They are Lt. Colonel Lester Ruegsegger, Salina, and Major Jack Curtis, Garden City, who serve as Reserve Liaison officers for the Air Force Academy, Lt. Commander Al Shiner, Commanding Officer, Hutchinson Naval Reserve Station, and Colonel Kenneth Peters, Larned, and Major Charles Kasper, Professor of Military Science, St. Joseph's Military Academy, Hays, Naval and Military Academies respectively.

Congressman Dole has two vacancies each at the Air Force and Army Academies, and one vacancy at the Naval Academy. He may nominate 10 boys to take the Merchant Marine competitive exam.

There are 78 applicants from 34 of the First District's 58 counties. They are:

BARTON

Delmar Cook, Hoisington
Darrell Eneff, Great Bend
Ronald S. Odegard, Great Bend
Doug Schumacher, Great Bend
Thomas L. Tempero, Hoisington
Rick Allen Wilbur, Great Bend
James F. Williamson Jr., Great Bend

BARBER

Paul Sternberger, Kiowa Jeffrey Williams, Medicine Lodge

CLARK

Charles Allen, Minneola

James R. Brock - Glasco

ELLIS

Bill Bahr - Hays

Thomas J. Cross - Hays

Darrell F. Dinkel - Victoria

Steven Lee Hart - Hays

William J. Johnson - Hays

Myron Kroeger - Ellis

Howard Edward Meier - Hays

William Riedel - Hays

Robert Alan Wagner - Hays

Gary Urbanek, Wilson

FINNEY
Darryl W. Graves, Garden City

Joseph P. Marak, Dodge City
Walter Garlan Old, Bucklin
Charles Richard Taylor, Dodge City

GRANT Claude Alexander, Ulysses

Anthony D. Lopez, Ingalls

James R. Huddleston, Tribune ν

Mason Lawson, Syracuse Mason Tomson, Syracuse

Scott Spreier, Jetmore

Peter Cordel, Burr Oak

KINGMAN
Richard Bohrer, Spivey
Kenneth Dobbin-Kingman
Jonathan Small, Kingman
George Russell Watson, Kingman

Mike Donabauer, Lincoln
Leon Lawrence Manning, Beverly

MEADE Dennis Borchers, Meade

MITCHELL
Jerry Lee Harrison, Beloit
Sheldon Pearson, Simpson

John Michael Kolacny, WaKeeney

WALLACE Jim Nokes, Sharon Springs James Alfred Bower, Norton

Gregory S. Butler, Osborne

OTTAWA
Kerry Lynn Parks, Minneapolis

Robert E. NOrris, Burdett

Richard N. Harris Jr., Pratt

James W. McBride, Atwood

Phillip M. Crow, Hutchinson

Jaye Ediger, Hutchinson

Dennis E. Humiston, Hutchinson

John Dennis Markle, Hutchinson

John R. Michael, Hutchinson

Gregory Roberts, Plevna

Don Seyb, Pretty Prairie

Laurence Archer, Lyons
Dennis Asbury, Sterling
Lin Plummer, Lyons

SALINE
Larry Dreiling, Salina
A. Montgomery Lightner Jr., Salina
John Patrick Maley, Salina
Richard D. Sheahon, Salina
Frank Allen Tighe, Salina
Dennic C. Wheatley, Salina

Charles Butler, Liberal
Steven Michael Leete, Liberal
Ronald Rouse, Liberal
Robert Lewis Taylor, Liberal

D. Keith Saathoff, Goodland

Ricky Bowden, St. John Timothy Johnson, St. John

William C. McKim, Moscow

Jonathan Eicher, Brewster
Steven M. Gunnels, Colby
Randall Lynn May, Rexford
Douglas Metzler, Colby
Charles D. Newbery, Colby