BOB DOLE 1ST DISTRICT, KANSAS COMMITTEE: AGRICULTURE DISTRICT OFFICES: ROOMS 210-211 FEDERAL BUILDING HUTCHINSON, KANSAS

RUSSELL, KANSAS

**BOX 31** 

## Congress of the United States House of Representatives Mashington, D. C.

BARBER BARTON CHEYENNE CLARK COMANCHE DECATUR **EDWARDS** FLLIS ELLSWORTH FINNEY GOVE GRAHAM GRANT GRAY HAMILTON HARPER HASKELL

LANE

LOGAN

PRATT

COUNTIES: HODGEMAN RAWLINS REPUBLIC JEW ELL KEARNY KINGMAN RICE ROOKS RUSH RUSSELL SALINE MEADE SCOTT MITCHELL MORTON SHERIDAN SHERMAN NORTON SMITH STAFFORD STANTON OSBORNE OTTAWA PAWNEE STEVENS TREGO WALLACE WICHITA

244 Cannon House Office Building CA 4-3121, extension 2715

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE December 21, 1963

The First District Academy Screening Board will convene Friday, December 27, at 8:00 a.m. in Sheridan Coliseum on the campus of Fort Hays Kansas State College, Hays, Kansas. The Board will interview candidates for the various Service Academies and make their recommendations to Congressman Bob Dole.

"The Screening Board was devised in 1961," Dole stated, "to insure that all Military, Air Force, and Naval Academy applicants would be considered on a completely impartial basis and to assure selection and nomination of the best qualified applicants. members interview each applicant personally, review his high school or college transcript, physical exam reports, personal references, and all other data submitted. Recommendations are then made to me and followed."

The Screening Board is composed of 12 outstanding residents of the First Congressional District, as follows:

> Mrs. A. M. Shatzell - Hoxie Long active in Girl Scouts

Robert Cram - St. Francis St. Representative from Cheyenne County

Forrest Stamper - Plainville Farmer and former State Senator

Leo Paulsen - Concordia Farmer and Legislative Representative for many farm groups in the Kansas Legislature

Dwight Payton - Ellsworth Owner and Publisher of ELLSWORTH MESSENGER

Bryon Hutchinson, D. D. S. - Salina Past President of Sacred Heart Home and School Assn.

(more)

(Dole Release - Dec. 21, 1963, cont.) 2

Richard Burnett - Hays Assistant to the President, Fort Hays Kansas State College

George Meeker - Phillipsburg Vice President of the Kansas Teachers Association

Sam C. Stitt - Ellinwood Superintendent of Ellinwood Public Schools

Lewis Gilbreath - Hutchinson Vice Principal of Hutchinson Senior High School

Loren Schmitt - Scott City Long active in 4-H activities

Mrs. Howard Muncy - Dodge City
Secretary of Ford County United Fund and active in community
affairs

The Board members are assisted by "technical advisors" who are well-qualified men with an active interest in the Academies. They include Lt. Colonel Lester Ruegsegger, Salina, and Major Jack Curtis, Garden City. Both serve as Reserve Liaison officers for the Air Force Academy. Lt. Commander Al Shiner, Commanding Officer of the Hutchinson Naval Reserve Station, and Colonel Kenneth Peters, U. S. Army Reserve, Larned, are advisors for the Naval and Military Academies respectively.

There are 38 applicants to be screened from 19 of the First District's 58 counties. Thirty boys have applied for Dole's 3 vacancies at the Air Force Academy; 7 for his 2 vacancies at the Naval Academy, and 1 has requested appointment to the Merchant Marine Academy. Dole may nominate ten boys to take the Merchant Marine competitive exam. Congressman Dole has no openings at the Military Academy for the 1964 entering class.

Attached is a complete list of applicants.

## APPLICANTS FOR SERVICE ACADEMIES - entering class of 1964 (listed by county)

BARTON

Donald Phillip Gillen - Ellinwood David Michael Taylor - Claflin Delmer C. Cook - Hoisington Dennis J. Hanzlick - Hoisington

ELLIS

Thomas J. Cross - Hays Darrell F. Dinkel - Victoria Larry E. Pfeifer - Walker

ELLSWORTH

Gary L. Urbanek - Wilson

FINNEY

Norman L. Graves - Garden City Robert G. Honish - Garden City Robert L. Kreutzer - Garden City

FORD

Danny J. Dannenberg - Dodge City R. Max Morrison - Dodge City Scott R. Robinson - Dodge City

GRAY

Anthony D. Lopez - Ingalls

MORTON

Jerry W. Bellomy - Elkhart

NESS

John J. Healzer - Ness City

NORTON

Henry J. Y. Kitzke - Densmore Ward B. Masden, Jr. - Lenora John S. Carter - Norton Dale L. Somers, Jr. - Norton

PRATT

Joseph L. McKown - Pratt James A. Wood - Pratt

RAWLINS

William Michael Guth - Atwood

RENO

Larry Dean Barton - Hutchinson(309 E.14)
Phillip Michael Crow - Hutchinson(1528 W.4)
Raymond W. Johnson - Hutchinson (RFD 4)

RICE

Daniel H. Stockstill - Geneseo

RUSSELL

Robert W. Mai - Russell

SALINE

James L. Peterson - 144 Montgomery,
Salina
Ned W. Garrigues - 907 East Ellsworth,
Salina

John R. Haase - 408 West Beloit, Salina

SEWARD

John L. Siemens - Liberal Dan B. Tedford - Liberal

STAFFORD

Richard Eugene Vaile - Macksville

WALLACE

William E. Folbre - Sharon Springs John F. Swanson - Sharon Springs

WICHITA

Thomas H. Keyes - Leoti