This document is from the collections at the Dole Archives, University of Kansas http://dolearchives.ku.edu

NATIONAL ORGANIZATION ON





910 Sixteenth Street, NW • Suite 600 • Washington, DC 20006 (202) 293-5960 • TDD (202) 293-5968 • FAX (202) 293-7999

ILYA ZASLAVSKY

<u>Ilya Zaslavsky</u>, 30, is a member of the Congress of People's Deputies of the USSR and a disability advocate.

Zaslavsky, who has a physical disability, is visiting the United States under the auspices of the Center for Democracy in the USSR through a grant from the U.S. National Endowment for Democracy. He will be in Washington (July 11-18) and New York (July 19, 20), discussing democratization in the Soviet Union and following up contacts he made in the disability field when he was here last September.

Zaslavsky, a textile research scientist, was elected to the Congress of People's Deputies from the Moscow Oktyabrsky District in March 1989, the voting district of Soviet President Gorbachev. In his election campaign, Zaslavsky spoke out on behalf of people with disabilities, elderly people and others whom he termed "the powerless".

In September 1989, Zaslavsky visited the United States at the invitation of the National Organization on Disability, a visit funded by USIA's International Visitor Program. He was welcomed on the floor of the U.S. Senate on September 7, when the Senate passed the Americans with Disabilities Act. Zaslavksy said he "only regretted that he could not add his vote," and he requested a copy of the bill in Russian as a possible model for use in the USSR.

HONORARY CHAIRMAN Gerald R. Ford

DIRECTORS Joseph D. Mathewson, Chairman President and CEO Mid-America National Bank of Chicago James S. Brady, Vice Chairman Former White House Press Secretary Alan A. Reich, President Philip E. Beekman Chairman and CEO, Hook-SupeRx, Inc. Henry B. Betts, M.D. Medical Director and CEO Rehabilitation Institute of Chicago Richard Bishop, Esq. Niles, Barton, & Wilme Bertram S. Brown, M.D. Forensic Medical Advisory Service Michael N. Castle Governor of Delaware William E. Castle National Technical Institute for the Deaf **Colby Chandler** Chairman and CEO Eastman Kodak Company John J. Coady Retired Group President, Mars, Inc. Coelho Managing Director Wertheim, Schroder & Co., Inc. Douglas D. Danforth **Retired Chairman** Westinghouse Electric Corporation Richard M. DeVos NOD Founding Chairman President, AMWAY Corporation Stephen L. Feinberg Chairman and CEO Dorsar Industries, Inc. George Gallup, Jr. President The Gallup Organization, Inc. Mrs. Winthrop Gardiner Founder, The Wakeman Award William R. Howell Chairman and CEO J.C. Penney Co., Inc Mercedese M. Miller Presiden SERD/BTS, Inc. Mary Jane Owen Director, Disability Focus Itzhak Perlman Robert C. Pew Chairman and CEO Steelcase, Inc. Joel D. Robinson COO, A.A.F.P., Inc. Michael T. Rose President Michael T. Rose Companies Michael I, Hose Companies Patrick G, Ryan Chairman and CEO Aon Corporation Raymond Philip Shater Former Governor of Pennsylvania Coursed, Duceware, & Crese Counsel, Dunaway & Cross Otto A. Silha Retired Chairman, Cowles Media Co. President, Silha Associates Judge Leonard Staisey W. Reid Thompson Chairman Potomac Electric PowerCompany Reverend Harold Wilke Director, The Healing Community Joseph D. Williams Chairman and CEO Warner-Lambert Company Raul Yzaguirre Preside ent National Council of La Raza Edward Kennedy, Jr. Special Ambassador for the

Decade of Disabled Persons CONGRESSIONAL SPONSORS Sen. William Armstrong, CO Sen. Alan Cranston, CA Sen. Robert Dole, KS

Sen. David Durenburger, MN Sen. Tom Harkin, IA Sen. Mark Hattleid, OR Sen. Daniel Inouye, HI Sen. Edward Kennedy, MA Sen. Paul Simon, IL

Rep. Julian Dixon, CA Rep. Bill Frenzel, MN Rep. Austin Murphy, PA Rep. Al Swift, WA Rep. Henry Waxman, CA Rep. Gus Yatron, PA